Suffrage Logo Only

Logo designed by Andrea Schaffer, Eau Claire AAUW Branch

Blue State Only

Logo designed by Tegan Jerde-Koonmen, Graphic Designer

The AAUW WI State Convention is Virtual!

Join Us!

Enjoy the convention from the comfort of your own home!


Share a Favorite Photo!





7 pm – 9:00 pm

7 pm – 7:05 pm
Introduction: Joan Schneider,
AAUW WI State President

7:05 pm – 7:30 pm
“AAUW – Preparing for the Future”:
Julia T. Brown, Esq.,
AAUW National Board Chair

7:30 pm – 7:45 pm
Introduction of Past Presidents:
Joan Schneider, AAUW WI State President

7:45 pm – 8 pm
Introduction: Bobbi White, AAUW Convention Committee
Welcome Video from the First Lady of Wisconsin: Kathy Evers

8 pm – 8:05 pm
Legacy Circle: Ann Gustafson

8:05 pm – 8:15 pm

8:15 pm – 9:00 pm
Toast to 100 Years of AAUW

“The Suffrage Movement: A Remembrance by Midwesterners Jessie Jack Hooper and Carrie Chapman Catt” scheduled for 2020 Convention and performed respectively by AAUW members Helen Bannan, dual member of Oshkosh and Milwaukee, and Pam Thiel, a La Crosse member.

Carrie Chapman Catt, one of the most influential leaders of the national and international suffrage movement, worked tirelessly for 30 years before finally achieving the ratification of the 19th Amendment and then founded the League of Women Voters to help women develop their political skills.  Jessie Jack Hooper, one of Catt’s loyal lieutenants and a leader in the Wisconsin Woman Suffrage Association, devoted her life to suffrage during the last decade of the struggle and helped Wisconsin become the first state to ratify the 19th Amendment.


9:15 pm – 11:00 pm

Hospitality Rooms (small group chat rooms to connect with current and new friends)



9:30 am

Business meeting and Installation of officers

11am – 12 pm

Keynote Speaker: Wisconsin State Legislator Shelia Stubbs, “Opportunities to Listen: A Conversation with a Black Woman”


Ten minute break (Get your own sandwich and beverage to enjoy as convention continues.)

12:10-1pm Breakout Session 1

1. Ideas for programs that are mission driven: Lyn Hildenbrand, State Program VP

2. Membership: balancing goals, hopes, and realities in 2021-22:  Christine Ebert, State Membership VP

3. Interest group ideas, group outings/other social options: a sharing of ideas by members with Joan Schneider (State President) as the Facilitator

1:10-2pm Breakout Session 2

1. Promotion of social diversity and justice: Dr. Laura Alwin and Whitney Townsend: “The Unity Project: Building a Better Community Through Inclusion”

2. Climate change issues and action: Katy Grogan, Citizens’ Climate Lobby

3. Using social media for visibility and communication: Lidia Madrid and
Mia Henry 


Jessica Michna created “Women Who Dared” for the 100th anniversary of 19th Amendment. “Cristabel and Emmeline Pankhurst, Susan B. Anthony, Emma Davisson, Elisabeth Cady Stanton; some names you may recognize, others you may not! These and other women (and men) championed the cause of women’s suffrage in this country and overseas in the late 19th and early 20th century. Protest jailings, victories, and defeats culminated with the signature of President Woodrow Wilson that would forever give women the right to vote.”

Pin Final

DONATE to AAUW Wisconsin

In gratitude for your donation,
you will receive an AAUW pin
designed by
Erica Koonmen, La Crosse Branch, and Tegan Jerde-Koonman.

AAUW 100 years logo

2021 is the 100th anniversary of AAUW in Wisconsin! 
Logo designed by Diane Adams, Janesville Branch.


Visit our Auction!

Last Year

Do you have a photo?

If you have a photo you want to share, use the Submit a Photo section above!

AAUW WI State Convention

Join Us!

Registration begins March 1!

Event Info


April 23 & 24, 2021


The Comfort of Your Own Home!


Friday:  7 p.m. to 9:45 p.m.
Saturday:  9:30 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.

Contact Us!